Multiple states close hunting to nonresidents

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, state game agencies have been making drastic changes. Some seasons have been closed while other states are encouraging people to go hunt and fish.

The latest changes come from Kansas and Nebraska. Both states have stopped selling spring turkey tags to all non-residents. Those that have already purchased their out of state turkey permits can still hunt if they first self-quarantine for 14 days. Hunters from those states are still allowed to hunt but asked to follow CDC guidelines on social distancing.

This move has much larger implications to it than most realize. Most pandemics like H1N1 go away when the weather warms up and comes back in the fall when the weather cools back down. This could potentially cause problems for out of state deer, bear, and elk hunters this November.

Below is the statement from the Kansas Department Of Fish & Wildlife.

Non-Resident Spring Turkey Permit Sales Suspended

Effective immediately, standard nonresident spring turkey permits for 2020 will no longer be sold in order to conform to Gov. Andy Beshear’s executive order and current CDC guidelines to minimize the spread of the COVID-19 Coronavirus. Only non-resident hunters who have already purchased 2020 spring turkey permits, and can comply with the Governor’s Executive Order No. 2020-266 should consider hunting in Kentucky during the spring season. The order requires all non-residents who travel to Kentucky to self-quarantine immediately for 14 days upon arrival.

Be sure to follow The Hunting News on Facebook to stay up to date on all the latest hunting closers.