I grew up hunting with my dad and grandpa. When I got to the age of 13 I took the hunter safety course and started hunting on my own in a limited matter. by 16 I would drive to my parent’s property with my younger brothers and cousins and we would deer or rabbit hunt on our own. This is a common story for many hunters. New legislation from Maryland threatens that way of life, and the ability to raise your kids your way.
State Delegate Dana Stein has introduced HB 636. This new legislation would prohibit a person from storing a firearm were anyone under 18 could gain access. This legislation also prevents teenagers from hunting alone by deleting language in current law that allows youth hunters who have finished the hunter safety course to access a firearm.
Currently, youth hunters 16 and over can hunt alone with permission from their parents. The new law would impose a $5,000 and up to 5 years in prison if violated.
“Maryland sportsmen must take a stand against any and all attempts to limit and criminalize hunting and responsible firearm use,” said Jacob Hupp, associate director of state services for Sportsmen’s Alliance. “This bill makes criminals out of responsible parents and the youth who take firearm and hunter safety courses and engage in lawful and long-accepted practices, and it does so with absolutely zero cause or reason.”